About

at Darren's company party, January 2016

at Darren’s company party, January 2016

Hello! I’m Katrina. I live in Minneapolis, MN with my husband Darren and our three pets. I started blogging in 2003, mostly about teenage nonsense. Eventually that evolved into college student nonsense, and finally dwindled to occasional documentation of things I did or stuff that happened  that I thought might be worth writing down. Then we bought a house! Now I’m mostly writing about the stuff we do to our house, but still including the other noteworthy-to-me adventures.

More Things Than You Could Ever Possibly Want to Know About Me:

I am left handed. It is important that you know this.

My handwriting sometimes looks exactly like my mom’s.

I find that jeans stop being comfortable after about 8 hours of wear. Sometimes less.

I have a twin! His name is Kyle. I sometimes call him Twinkle.

Despite sharing a bed with another human (and a 50 lb dog), I still sleep with a stuffed animal. A bunny named Dinosaur.

I never got detention when I was a kid.

My biological father died when I was seven. I refer to both him and my step father as my dad. I think it confuses people.

I don’t want to have children.*

I do want pets. Obviously, since I have some.

I have been trapped in an elevator twice. It was the same elevator.

I have a hard time picking favorite things, especially movies.

I prefer blue ink over black. I haven’t always.

 

I love food. I love cooking and eating food.

I like baseball and hockey but I don’t really watch the games on TV.

As soon as I was done taking gym classes in high school, I swore I would never play softball or volleyball again.

I had strep throat four times in 8 months between my junior and senior years of college. I should have had my tonsils removed then. I didn’t.

I have never had surgery.

I’ve never even had stitches. Or broken a bone.

I love a man in a nice suit.

Just about every time I walk into Target, it’s a battle of willpower to not spend all my money. I realize this is not a unique trait.

I’m halfway convinced that I am tone deaf. Don’t ever ask me to sing.

Apparently I have double jointed thumbs. It’s a useless trait, as far as I can tell.

I have very pointy elbows.

My left foot is larger than my right by at least half a size. Probably a whole size.

I wish I had musical talent.

Once upon a time, when I was very young, I said I would never do most of the things I do now.

I am happy with my decisions.

I say soda instead of pop. This is unusual in MN.

I like being able to use semi-colons.

I like the idea of religion, but I believe in science.

I realize that being unwilling to change is the first thing I’d be doing wrong if I were to honestly want a religion to play a larger role in my life.

My ultimate comfort food/meal would be a grilled cheese sandwich with tomato soup and chocolate milk.

A lot of people say they have no regrets. I have some. I’m okay with that.

My husband Darren is the only fellow I ever brought home to meet my parents.

I still have my baby blanket and the teddy bear I’ve had since I was two. They live comfortably in my closet. The bear, Ted, reached legal drinking age in 2009.

I dislike the sound of other people eating.

My mom doesn’t remember my first word.

I’ve memorized entire musicals. Several of them. Not on purpose. Okay, maybe a little bit on purpose…

I don’t dot my i’s.

I taught myself to tie a bow tie.

I was in band for a year between 5th and 6th grade. The only reason I joined was because I read that band kids get higher SAT scores. I didn’t even take the SAT.

I tend to look at the keyboard when I type.

I was named after the band Katrina & the Waves.

I own a Ringo Starr action figure.

I love snow but hate cold weather.

It annoys me when people refer to rehearsals as “play practice.”

Some people call me Trina, but only because they’re part of an elite group of awesomeness.

Repetitive noises annoy me. Things like squeaky fans or someone tapping their pen.

I hate being told to relax.

Someone in my family once told me that I was potty trained by the time I was 11 months old – before I learned to walk.

I don’t know my blood type.

I like to learn new things but prefer teaching myself if possible. I am very inpatient when it comes to being taught.

I hate calling people and rarely do it unless they call me first.*

I tend to dislike people calling me “honey,” or any variation thereof. It always sounds condescending.

I like hugs that require me to stand on my tiptoes.

I like to make lists, but only arbitrary ones.

I missed the last day of school in 8th grade because I had to get braces and then go to my grandpa’s funeral.

One of my favorite things is hearing music for the first time and realizing I love it.

I count things without realizing I’m doing it. Most often I count my steps when I’m walking somewhere. I’ll start randomly and not realize I’m doing it until I suddenly hear myself going “31, 32, 33, 34…”

I had a perm through most of elementary school.

The only downside I foresee in not having kid is, as a result, not having grandkids.

I have a tinyindentation on my forehead – it’s a chicken pox scar.

Darren proposed to me in our living room, in boxer shorts, while we were watching a rerun of The Office.

My biggest pet peeve is either when people stand on escalators, or when people don’t move to the empty row on the bus.

I can’t decide if I’m a cat person or a dog person.

I crochet, and I can kind of knit.

 

* Sorry mom.

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “About

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s